Watch your back! - Reisverslag uit Johannesburg, Zuid-Afrika van Marcel Brekelmans - WaarBenJij.nu Watch your back! - Reisverslag uit Johannesburg, Zuid-Afrika van Marcel Brekelmans - WaarBenJij.nu

Watch your back!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marcel

12 Oktober 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, Johannesburg

Just the other day I went up to Pablo's, the caracal, to refresh his water and take out the pooh. Now his enclosure is full of boulders and there are lots of places for him to hide.

When I got to the fence I couldn't see him, but his water bowl is right beside the door and he has a fixed spot where he releaves himself, so I thought nothing of it and just went inside.

But when I was scooping up the pooh, I could just feel his eyes on me. And sure enough, when I turned my back he was standing there, a meter away of me. With intense eyes he was looking at me and I could almost see a plan coming up in his mind. Funny how your body can tell that you're being watched!

Maybe he was trying for the door (which was ajar) or maybe he was just following his instinct: if you are cleaning up, you have to bend over to take out the dung. But that posture could just be enough to trigger his instinct (or so I thought).

Anyway, seeing me seeing him was enough to break off whatever operation he had in mind. But a lesson learned: always be sure where the animal is before you enter the enclosure!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marcel

Actief sinds 19 Sept. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 184
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6744

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Oktober 2014 - 29 Oktober 2014

Cheetah Reintroduction Programme

Landen bezocht: