On my own ... - Reisverslag uit Johannesburg, Zuid-Afrika van Marcel Brekelmans - WaarBenJij.nu On my own ... - Reisverslag uit Johannesburg, Zuid-Afrika van Marcel Brekelmans - WaarBenJij.nu

On my own ...

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marcel

05 Oktober 2014 | Zuid-Afrika, Johannesburg

The morning duties are there, every day: we go out into every cage (not on your own, mind you!). Take out the blankets from the nightquarters and hang them on the fence. Collect the pooh and refill the water bowls. I decided on the pooh collecting part this morning (did the mice the first day, fed the rabbits the next and so work my way up ;) ). I even got in with Pablo. A lot of hissing and you keep watching your back, but it feels rewarding!

My four fellow volunteers (Jeroen en Evelyn are from Belgium, Matt is from the UK and Ricarda is from Switzerland) all decided to test their adrenaline levels and are on their way now for their skydive (a tandem jump, of course). The other volunteers, who were already here when we arrived, decided on a picknick. But I liked the idea of having all the time for myself and I stayed behind. Just had a shave, a good shower and having a breakfast, I'm typing this.

I think I will just walk around and make some nice pictures of the surroundings, the compound, the cages, how everything is situated. And then of course spend some time with Duke and Raph, have a moment with Pablo. And just walk around and sit with all the other cats for a moment. And don't forget Kuifje (the bird) and Nibbles (the squirl)...

It feels great to be here!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marcel

Actief sinds 19 Sept. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 170
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6737

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Oktober 2014 - 29 Oktober 2014

Cheetah Reintroduction Programme

Landen bezocht: